Problems with the Slayer Exciter Project

Andre Maia 1

Joined Jan 31, 2018
Hello everyone reading this post! First of all, I don't understand a whole lot of electronics... In fact, I just started out... I'm a student and I stumbled upon this project called "the slayer exciter" and I'd like to make it work for the science fair at my school.
As you may have guessed it didn't work out that well and that's why I'm here, hopefully I'll get this fixed before the delivery...
This is the circuit:

For the seconday coil, I used a PVC pipe with about 2.5 cm of diameter(1 inch) and 9 cm of height(3.54 inches) and winded the coil all the way down, for the Primary coil I wound up 4 turns in the opposite direction of my secondary coil.. I used a 2N2222A transistor and I think I connected the ports correctly ( My transistor gets really hot within a few seconds of the circuit being turned on ) I used a 22k resistor.

Slayer.png DSC_0031.JPG
My main objective is to light up a fluorescent bulb when it gets close the coil...

I have some questions regarding electronics as well.
1. Can I use common copper wire to connect my circuit? ( my cables had a bunch of little wires instead of a solid grey wire. )
2. And shouldn't this circuit be wrong as it's open?

In the attachments goes my build, it doesn't look very aesthetic but it seems correct to me?

Thanks in regards, André

Last edited by a moderator:

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
Welcome to AAC!
My transistor gets really hot within a few seconds of the circuit being turned on
The circuit probably isn't oscillating, so if the transistor has good current gain and the battery is fresh there would be a high DC current through the collecor-emitter path.
Try reversing the coil connections of the 4-turn primary coil, and/or adding an extra turn or two to it.
1) Almost any wire will do, providing it can carry the current.
2) The circuit seems to rely on inherent, stray or added capacitance across the secondary for resonance.

lazaABT