pabloasensigarcia18@gmail

Joined May 10, 2024
Hi,

This is my first time designing a PCB and I just wanted to check that I had done it correctly or if there's anything I can improve.

The main focus of this design is to scale down Voltage into a GPIO entry on an MCU and then scaling back up the voltage coming out from the MCU to the OEM components.

For this I have used 6 ULN2004 chips which hopefully I have wired correctly. I have used 2 different types of tracing widths; 0.75mm for the 12V signals and 0.3mm for the 3.3V signals. Also, all my vias are 1.6mm diameter and 1mm hole.

One of the biggest questions that I have is that I have poured a ground plane on the bottom layer of the board, and I have also poured a 12V and a 3.3V power plane on the top layer of the board, I am using some decoupling capacitors connected to the power input of the ULNs, but as both the capacitor and the ULN power pin are connected to the power layer, I don't know if they will do their job properly.

There's some extra pins that are not wired, I am still thinking of a use that I could give them to keep the connectors a nice even number.

Any feedback and/or advice is more than welcome.

Thank you in advance!

1715336440623.png

1715336473927.png

1715336524188.png

1715336561313.png

panic mode

Joined Oct 10, 2011
silkscreen is your canvas - use it to mark each and every terminal. this will avoid confusion when trying to interface to the board. for example you marked J3 as "Button Inputs" but it is not clear which of them is input1,2,3.... do not assume that end user will be educated enough and willing to look for square pad and count terminals.

same goes for outputs. same goes for GPIO header...

same goes for all the parts on the board. identify them (IC1, IC2... R1, R2,...)