Trying to hookup a linear actuator to photocell using a DPDT relay

Thread Starter

charliebobgordon

Joined Aug 23, 2019
1
Hi there, I'm trying to follow this tutorial to create a circuit that will control a linear actuator by using a photocell via a DPDT relay which switches the polarity of the power to the linear actuator.

I'm struggling because I'm a complete beginner when it comes to electronics (and I mean COMPLETE beginner) but wanted to create this as automatic chicken coop door switches are quite expensive! I've wired it up the best I can with guidance but it's still not working unfortunately.

Things to note:
  • The DPDT relay I have is different from the one used in the tutorial, the one I have looks like this, so I've had to wire it up a bit differently.
  • The photocell I have is different from the one used in the tutorial, it has screw terminals which are 'LI', 'LO', and 'N'.
  • I'm using T tap connectors to split up my cables.
Here's a diagram of how I've got it connected at the moment:


Apologies for my terrible diagram but I hope it's easy to understand.

Thank you for any help at all!
 

MisterBill2

Joined Jan 23, 2018
9,866
The connection scheme shown in post #3 will work, BUT there needs to be some means to switch off the actuator at each end of the motion.
Since we have no clue either about the actuator or that module with the relay anything else is a guess. Is the photocell a module or simply a component?
And this whole thread looks different from what I saw yesterday.
 

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
23,943
Hi there, I'm trying to follow this tutorial to create a circuit that will control a linear actuator by using a photocell via a DPDT relay which switches the polarity of the power to the linear actuator.
but wanted to create this as automatic chicken coop door switches are quite expensive!
Thank you for any help at all!
There have been a few 'Chicken Coop Door' circuits here in the past, it may be worth a search.
Max.
 

Mouthpear

Joined Dec 24, 2018
25
Just did a cursory search here using "Chicken Coop' turns up 9 pages of hits!
Max.
But the OP is asking about this specific Relay Module and how to connect a photocell. Does that not make the difference and justify it's own thread? Plus he may have already looked and found nothing like what he needs. JS
 

MisterBill2

Joined Jan 23, 2018
9,866
The question asked by Crutschow in post #6 still matters a lot. It would change the whole control scheme if the linear actuator does not include limit switching to stop it.
First issues need to come first. If the motion part does not operate as needed the rest does not matter.
 

Mouthpear

Joined Dec 24, 2018
25
It does because the TS stated he was a complete beginner, so we are trying to establish how to solve his problem, not just answer his specific question.
So I suggest you help with that rather than complaining about protocols on this forum. :rolleyes:
At this point you are just trying to justify asking questions. You told me that when I did the same it was called hijaking.. No matter. You can ignore all my posts. I already sent message to delete my account.
 

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
23,943
But the OP is asking about this specific Relay Module and how to connect a photocell. Does that not make the difference and justify it's own thread? Plus he may have already looked and found nothing like what he needs. JS
I did not say anything about not justifying his own thread, I was merely offering the advice of seeking either an answer in prior threads for at least information on the type of system he is apparently seeking to implement.
Max.
 

Mouthpear

Joined Dec 24, 2018
25
I did not say anything about not justifying his own thread, I was merely offering the advice of seeking either an answer in prior threads for at least information on the type of system he is apparently seeking to implement.
Max.
You need to read this line. "Does that not make the difference and justify it's own thread? ", "justify ITS own thread. The content of the tread is what justifies been a thread of ITS own. So if he already search and could not find anything on this specific issue why can't he post? Why are you assuming that he hasn't already searched?
 
Top