How to introduce myself to the microprocessor world (MOVE FORM MCU's to MPU's)

Cblue ZX

Joined Nov 28, 2022
Hi everyone!, im currently a student, i know about electrical circuits, basic electronics, digital circuits, basic digital design, microcontrollers, programming and other things, im a biomedical engineer and currently im working as service engineer (giving maintenance to medical equipment) but i want to move on in the near future to a job about design of medical equipment and i want to focus on embedded systems for medical equipment.
I have designed small projects like ECG, EEG (amateur designs) using microcontrollers, i know about PIC's and STM32, and i know C programming (currently learning C++ and micropython).
I have read the requirements for the kind of job i want in the future and in that jobs they want things like:
"Microprocessors"
"SoC's"
and other things.

My first question is: by 'SoC' they are referring to microprocessors?

And the second (and more important for me) is:
How can i start in the world of MPU's, how can i 'migrate' from using MCU's to using MPU's?
Because i only know the difference between MCU and MPU but i dont know anything else, i dont know if they can be programmed in C or is only on assembler, idk even if they can be programmed, i dont know where to start.
I wanted to start reading a book about MPU design using FPGA but idk if this is the right way, because in the job i want they dont want me to design a MPU, they want me to use it in order to design medical equipment; i mean i want to learn about MPU design in the future but for now i want to learn how for example to throw away mi ECG using PIC and design an ECG using and MPU.

Can you guide me in the right way? i mean the "recomended way" and materials like courses in udemy etc... or books, or youtube tutorials or a blog...

Thanks in advance!

Attachments

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Welcome to AAC!

MCU vs MPU vs CPU vs SoC vs FPGA

What do all of these acronyms mean?