How do you load a PSpice netlist into LTSpice and run an analysis/generate a schematic?

Thread Starter

Veek

Joined Oct 23, 2018
7
* resistor divider circuit
VIN 1 0 3.0volt
R1 1 2 1.0ohm
R2 2 0 2.0ohm
.END
So I have this simple resistor divider circuit in PSpice/from a book/NGSpice - how do I load it in LTSpice/Linux/Wine?
(I'm reading from SPICE A Guide to Circuit Simulation but I am also reading from Passive Circuit Analysis with LTSpice. The former has the example)

I tried manual loading in LTSpice but it just opens up the file for viewing
 

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
26,967
For such a simple circuit, it's easier just to graphically enter the circuit in LTspice using the schematic editor.

You do know how to read that file to generate the circuit(?).
The numbers with no preffix or suffix are circuit nodes.
All nodes with the same number are tied together.
Node 0 is the ground node, using the ground symbol.
 
Last edited:

Thread Starter

Veek

Joined Oct 23, 2018
7
For such a simple circuit, it's easier just to graphically enter the circuit in LTspice using the schematic editor.

You do know how to read that file to generate the circuit(?).
The numbers with no preffix or suffix are circuit nodes.
All nodes with the same number are tied together.
Node 0 is the ground node, using the ground symbol.
1. could we stay on topic without presuming ignorance/simplicity and explaining that..
2. if I had given a more complicated example someone would have asked me to dummy it down to suit..
(yes I am familiar with what a netlist is - the books cover that) [it's not funny or clever when your posts mimick your avatar]

http://ltwiki.org/index.php?title=Most_frequently_asked_questions_for_beginners
Circuit file: name.cir frequently used extension for an external netlist input file (text)
So LTSpice does allow for external netlist's - why then isn't it rendering Symbols/Schematic?
 

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
26,967
1. could we stay on topic
What I said was on topic.
You asked advice for a very simple circuit, so I had no idea of your knowledge or level of ignorance.
2. if I had given a more complicated example someone would have asked me to dummy it down to suit..
What's that got to do with my reply?
[it's not funny or clever when your posts mimick your avatar
That's your opinion.

If you don't like my posts you can always go elsewhere for your answers.
Certainly you won't get any further replies from me.
 

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
15,701
You can use a netlist file to run an analysis, but it wont generate a schematic. In all cases where I had a netlist, for example from Basso's book on Switch Mode Power Supplies, I read the netlist and manually generate a schematic. It works each and every time. To be successful at this you do have to know what you are doing in the LTspice world. I suggest that you start by creating the divider in the GUI and looking at the resulting netlist file. It is the one with the .asc extension. BTW thanks for the tip.

One more thing. There is an LTspice group on groups.io
You can join that group and ask, but the folks have a tendency to be dismissive, especially if you don't read the stickies and other intoductory material on the site.
 
Last edited:

Thread Starter

Veek

Joined Oct 23, 2018
7
http://ltwiki.org/files/SchBuilder.zip
http://ltwiki.org/index.php?title=LTspice_Tools_and_Applications

http://www.audio-perfection.com/spi...nverting-subcircuit-netlist-to-schematic.html
https://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/threads/conversion-of-netlist-to-schematic.2110/

I tried Schematic Builder - you load your .cir/netlist file by selecting 'Netlist' 'Open' and then you save the schematic/.asc file which you then open in LTSpice. You got to then manually order the components and run wires to the nodes.
 

eetech00

Joined Jun 8, 2013
2,311
So I have this simple resistor divider circuit in PSpice/from a book/NGSpice - how do I load it in LTSpice/Linux/Wine?
(I'm reading from SPICE A Guide to Circuit Simulation but I am also reading from Passive Circuit Analysis with LTSpice. The former has the example)

I tried manual loading in LTSpice but it just opens up the file for viewing
hi

You have a net list. the only thing missing is the simulation command.

add a .Tran statement.


For example


* resistor divider circuit
VIN 1 0 3.0volt
R1 1 2 1.0ohm
R2 2 0 2.0ohm

.tran 500m <----add this statement.

.ends


The statement above tells the simulator to run a transient simulation for 500ms.

Once it completes right click the waveform window and select "view"->"visible traces", then select the node of interest.
The node will then be displayed in the waveform viewer.

eT
 
Last edited:
Top