Help me understand MIC impedance and gain (Microphone)

rpschultz

Joined Nov 23, 2022
I am a guitarist. I recently wanted to figure out how to power an internal mic for a guitar, so I started digging into it over on the Acoustic Guitar Forum. I eventually made my way over here and continued to developed an internal mic preamp with some help from this forum, very similar to a circuit that @Audioguru again originally developed. The max gain in the circuit below is 11x (100/10 +1), or about 21 dB (see below). I have been using it on two condenser (2 conductor) mics I have: Shure WL50 (1.7kΩ) and the Rodes GO (3kΩ). For these two mics, I don't need much gain, the Shure takes a little, maybe 3-5 dB while the Rodes GO doesn't take ANY gain, volume pot all the way down.

There are 2 other very popular mics that guitarist use for this application (internal mic), a bit more expensive than the ones above: Audix L5 (200Ω) and DPA 4061 (30Ω). The DPA 4061, for example, has an impedance of 100x less than the Rodes GO. Am I right in thinking that because the DPA has 100x less impedance than the Rodes GO that it will take 100x more gain?

PreampBasic.png

Audioguru again

Joined Oct 21, 2019
The DPA 4061 lavalier mic costs $500US (!). It has a normal electret mic frequency response and low noise level.
Its sensitivity is exactly the same as a normal electret mic.
Then it will sound the same as a $2.00US electret mic cartridge.

BUT, its max sound level with low distortion is a blasting 134dB (!) for use inside a drum or maybe inside a loud piano.
The common cheap electret mic cartridges can be easily modified (Linkwitz mic mod in Google) for low distortion at very high sound levels but with less sensitivity, then the preamp needs more gain.