ESP32 based Custom Flight Controller - Drones

TommasoB

Joined Nov 26, 2023
Hello,

My name is Tommaso Bugliesi and I am a mechanical engineer currently engaged in the development of an open-source flight controller centered around the ESP32 chip. While this project is ambitious, I find myself encountering challenges in the realm of PCB design—an area where my expertise as a mechanical engineer is limited. Nevertheless, I am eager to expand my knowledge in this field.

I successfully crafted the initial PCB (refer to the attached schematic and board layout) and had it manufactured by a PCB production company. I meticulously assembled it by procuring all the necessary electrical components from Digikey and AliExpress. Unfortunately, I've encountered a setback— the assembled board doesn't function as intended.

I am reaching out in the hopes that someone with expertise in PCB design could spare some time to assist me in identifying potential errors in my work.

The primary issue revolves around the CP2102N-QFN28 chip. Regrettably, I've been unable to establish a USB connection with the board. The first assembled board was recognized by Windows, albeit with a hardware error 43. The subsequent attempt, aimed at refining the soldering process, resulted in a non-functional board.

I meticulously inspected all the main traces on the board, and everything appears to be in order. The sole anomaly I detected is a continuous 0.15V reading at the DP/DP pin of the micro USB connector. To be precise, there's 0.15V at DP and 0V at DN (values measured directly at the USB connector pins).

I would highly appreciate any additional insights or critiques regarding both the schematic and the board layout.

Thank you sincerely for your valuable time.

Best regards,
Tommaso Bugliesi

Attachments description:
1) Board_picture: Printed board with components. You may notice that I try to invert TX and RX, but I also test the configuration with layout of the schematic.