Can I Turn On an XBee, ATMega328, RTC DS1307 and Catalex microSD adapter

IgnacioMorac

Joined May 30, 2021
Hello partners

I am an engineering student and I am doing my graduation project. I try to send information from the Photovoltaic Panel to the computer. In order to do this, I made a design of a circuit that can measure the voltage of a panel that is generating between 25 and 44 volts. This voltage will be measured by the ADC, processed and sent in a data frame already established in the XBee Transmit Request format. Part of the design is in my previous post, where I ask how to make a protection circuit. https://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/threads/crowbar-circuit-to-protect-sensor-for-overvoltage.179464/

Anyway, so as not to tire them with the story. I made a PCB and assembled everything. The circuit did not work, which is very frustrating.
Since I have to introduce myself the other week, I got in trouble.
. I made a PCB and assembled everything. The circuit did not work, which is very frustrating.
Since I have to present the other week, I got into trouble.

As this could not be done, we proceed to rephrase the problem. I am no longer going to focus on measuring panels with voltages within the 25 to 40 range. Instead, I am going to focus on 18 volts maximum. What I have done is use the same circuit for the ADC without the protection stage, just to begin to see what is failing me in the circuit.
1623429062899.png
Now I need a circuit that gives me 5 volts independently of the input. So I used the LM2596 DC - DC buck.

1623429286336.png
Then I connect the XBee and it does not turn on. So make a stream mirror. But when I connect the buck, the current mirror should theoretically have the same voltage but more current. What happens is that when I measure the voltage at the output of the buskc I have 1.4 volts.

1623429422128.png

So I can't turn on an XBee, much less will I be able to use a circuit that has an XBee, an ATMega, an RTC and a Datalogger.

IgnacioMorac