Which route to go for coding embedded C?

StrongPenguin

Joined Jun 9, 2018
I really wanna learn a programming language (for some odd reason..), but I am not that interested in software development (yet..?) However, I am interested in embedded coding, and here, C seems to be the language most people go to.

So I need (and want) to learn C, but for the purpose of fiddeling with embedded stuff (Microcontrollers, mainly..) I know very little about this stuff, so all help is more than welcome.

The question In my embedded journey, do I "just" learn C like any other self taught software developer would, by buying a book on C and start coding small programs? Or are there books on embedded programming for beginners? I actually found one, but I have no idea on the level. It had advanced in the title, so..

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
I'd start by learning C because that's what "embedded C" is based on; with "extensions" to handle non-standard stuff.

I learned from "The C Programming Language" written by the people (K&R) who developed the language.

Last edited:

StrongPenguin

Joined Jun 9, 2018
Ok, very interesting. But I am under the impression that that book is for intermediate folks, and not very beginner friendly at all.

I don't know any programming. At all. Is it still a good start?

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Ok, very interesting. But I am under the impression that that book is for intermediate folks, and not very beginner friendly at all.

I don't know any programming. At all. Is it still a good start?
Just about all programming language books assume you already know how to program in some other language.

Look for a programming for beginners book, preferably for the language you want to learn.

ebp

Joined Feb 8, 2018