Which Hardware Emulator and Development IDE/Editor is best for Embedded Development

mack38

Joined Nov 29, 2019
I am new to the embedded development area and doing self-study in this area (I am already from Computer Science background) but I have few doubts and need guidance on the development and testing tools used in this area.

Q1. What is the difference between :-
openOCD, pyOCD, Segger J-Link,

Jumper Virtual Lab,
https://www.thefreecountry.com/emulators/arm.shtml
QEMU CPU Emulator,
ARMware,
Microsoft Device Emulator 3.0,
Softgun - the Software ARM,
SkyEye

I am confused between an emulator and the one which is required and works with Debug Probe.

According to my understanding, a Debug Probe is a device used to write hex code from the laptop (hex file generated by the editor) to your project board/MCU (real board) ? Correct me if I am wrong
and those softwares which are used to run the debug prob device are e.g. J-Link or openOCD or pyOCD. Correct me if I am wrong

and there is another type of software which basically emulate the entire MCU on your laptop which means you actually don't need any real physical MCU board and by this, you can, again and again, run your code on this virtual MCU Board to test (which is not real MCU board but a software emulating like MCU Board on your laptop OS).
e.g. hardware emulator software are : Jumper Virtual Lab, QEMU etc... Correct me if my understanding is wrong?

Q2. Which hardware emulator is best and free for ARM Cortex-M, -R, AVR, PIC, STM***, NXP based MCU ? which are the popular and commonly Hardware emulators used by MNC during firmware development? (so that I can download and start practicing on that) (I don't know if real MNCs prefer to use free/open-source option or paid emulator.)