Using 12v brake-light signal as a switch to ground a set of LEDs

Hellodonk

Joined Nov 2, 2019
I just want to start by saying I have some knowledge, being an Industrial designer, but I am by no means an expert.

I have a set of US taillights, that I have successfully converted to UK regulations (yellow indicators) and I am currently working on a dual function tail/brake light feature.

I have built a PWM 555 circuit to lower the brightness of the lights and that works great, however, to get the full 12v to the same lights (to function as brake lights) I am not sure what the best way to go about it is...

In the image attached, the LEDs are hooked up in between the DRL signal and a mosfet. In order to trigger the LEDs full brightness I can ground the negative side of the LEDs, bypassing the mosfet and entire PWM circuit.

But, I would like to use the positive 12v brake light signal already in the car, is there a simple way (another transistor, relay or something similar) to use the 12v signal as a switch to connect the LEDs to ground?

Is there something I'm missing here?
Thanks for any suggestions!

Attachments

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
Simple.
Just add a diode (1N4148 or similar) between the 12V brake light (anode) and the LED MOSFET gate (cathode).
Thus, when the brake is off, the 555 will control the MOSFET, and when the brake is on, it will override the 555 signal due to the isolation of the 1k resistor, and turn the MOSFET fully on.

Hellodonk

Joined Nov 2, 2019
Simple.
Just add a diode (1N4148 or similar) between the 12V brake light (anode) and the LED MOSFET gate (cathode).
Thus, when the brake is off, the 555 will control the MOSFET, and when the brake is on, it will override the 555 signal due to the isolation of the 1k resistor, and turn the MOSFET fully on.

Would that 1N4148 diode be under a lot of current due to the LED draw? Or is that irrelevant?

Hellodonk

Joined Nov 2, 2019
No.
It only has to supply about 12mA through the 1k resistor.