Short circuit in PWM led dimmer with 555 & pot

outro

Joined Mar 7, 2017
I'm quite new to electronics and I got this working already once, but now for some reason I get short circuit (variable PSU goes crazy with current, even when voltage <2)

I don't expect anyone to find the problem from the pictures, but maybe help me to start debugging from the right place

Multimeter on the 'beep' mode (signal?) beeps when I hold other in VCC and other in GND - so I guess it's a short circuit

In short, VCC in red wire, GND in black, led gets GND from MOSFET center pin.

Attachments

JohnInTX

Joined Jun 26, 2012
Welcome to AAC!

Based on your pics the first thing I would look for is a solder flake or stray wire strand that has contacted something. Your soldering is not the best from the picture and many electronics problems can be traced to connections - either too few or too many i.e. shorts. Inspect carefully and reheat the joints. That will usually break inadvertent bridges plus some of the joints on the bigger pins near the bottom of the pic look cold i.e. not enough heat to cause the solder to flow smoothly to make the joint. You also can try dragging the tip of an X-Acto knife between the joints to remove hard to see bridges.

Assuming the connections are correct and tidy, I';d look at the 470uF capacitor to be sure it is in the right way. A backwards electrolytic can work for awhile then fail short.

Try measuring in the ohms mode without the beeper. Short the leads and note the reading if it's non-zero. That is your short circuit reading. Then probe around looking for a tiny increase in the reading. If you see one, you are moving away from the short. That doesn't always work but something to try. You may find that the problem is not a dead short (from a solder blob) but an overload due to a fried component that will show a low but not zero ohms reading.