Problems

Status
Not open for further replies.

bryzh

Joined Feb 28, 2020
Hi, I'm a computer science student interested in learning about DSP for my own pleasure, so I can write audio units for software like VCVRack. With that in mind, I'm currently working through Richard Lyons's Understanding Digital Signal Processing, and I wanted to check my answers to make sure I understand things correctly. Right now, I'm on chapter two.

Edit: As I'm writing out my answers, I'm realizing I'd like to check a lot of these questions. So, thank you for your patience if you decide to check any of these answers for me!

2.4 Consider a continuous time-domain sinewave, whose cyclic frequency is 500 Hz, defined by x(t) = cos[2π(500)t + π/7].
Write the equation for the discrete x(n) sinewave sequence that results from sampling x(t) at an fs sample rate of 4000 Hz.

Does the π/7 matter? I got x(n) = cos[2π(1/8)n + π/7] otherwise.

2.6 Suppose we used the following statement to describe the Nyquist criterion for lowpass sampling: “When sampling a single continuous sinusoid (a single analog tone), we must obtain no fewer than N discrete samples per continuous sinewave cycle.” What is the value of this integer N?

Nyquist criterion says we need more than twice the frequency, right? So we would need > 2 samples per cycle.

2.9 Consider a continuous time-domain sinewave defined by x(t) = cos(4000πt) that was sampled to produce the discrete sinewave sequence defined by x(n) = cos(nπ/2). What is the f_s sample rate, measured in Hz, that would result in sequence x(n)?

Moving 2π out: The original frequency was 2000 Hz. The sample rate was 8000 Hz, s.t. x(n) = cos(2π (2000 Hz) (1/8000 sec/sample) t).