Oscilloscope Features

jackhevans

Joined Sep 2, 2018
I’m a hobbyist looking into buying my first oscilloscope. I’m NOT looking for a brand recommendation or price war. :) Rather, I'm hoping to get a better understanding of what features I should be looking at in my product research.

Typically, my work falls into these categories:

• Microcontroller circuits and pre-built boards (Arduino, mostly) running clocks from 16 MHz to 32 MHz
  • Sound generator circuits (discrete and op-amp) and pre-built boards (for WAV/MP3 on SD cards), and amplifiers
  • Small DC motor controllers (12 V, 1/2 amp or so) with H bridge and PWM control (500-2000 Hz)

An example project I’m in the design phase of is a music box with a digital selector for choosing songs to play and a variable speed motor for turning a miniature carousel. I'd like to be able to test the audio signal quality before and after the amplifier, look for glitches in the motor PWM signal, and verify the I2C line between controllers, that sort of thing.

Based on my understanding of attenuation in scopes, I think a 100 MHz scope is likely to suit my needs, although a nagging voice in my head keeps saying "more is better!". I think two channels would probably be good, but I’m planning to go with four just to give myself a little room for growth. I’m definitely looking at ones with at least the option of adding some digital channels from monitoring I2C and SPI communication between different controllers.

Am I in the right ballpark with those numbers and what I want to do? What other features, tolerances, or gotchas should I pay attention to while researching different scopes? Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Welcome to AAC!

You will receive 12 different recommendations from 12 different people.

1) The first consideration is budget. You can buy a scope for US$50 or $5000.
2) New or used.
3) Analog or digital.