William Alderman

Joined Sep 8, 2014
I was an electrician in commercial construction for 20 yrs. But, I went to Nursing school 30 years ago and worked in the OR until I retired a couple of years ago. I'm purely a hobbyist. I am currently (sorry not intended pun) helping my son build a heated water bath for his dark room. It needs to maintain 101 degrees precisely.
It also needs to control a mechanism that rolls a cylinder for 5-8 sec, reverses 5-8 sec and repeats continuously.
I have made some rough drawing to illustrate if anyone wishes to see them.
Thanx,
Will

wmodavis

Joined Oct 23, 2010
"It needs to maintain 101 degrees precisely."

How precisely is 'precisely'? More precisely means more costly.
What is the ambient temperature in the dark room?
How many gallons in the in the heated bath? Is it water or gasoline ;-)?
Is the water still or moving?
Is the bath insulated to aid in maintaining constant temperature?
Is the temperature bath physically or otherwise tied into the rolling mechanism or are they two completely operations?

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
The middle 4 questions all address the required heating wattage, and heater configuration options. Do you already know these parameters and/or already have the heater?

Can we assume you'd rather use off-the-shelf solutions rather than build your own? (The available products are likely cheaper than what you can build yourself, but some folks enjoy building anyway.)

What powers the rollers?

Last edited:

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
"It needs to maintain 101 degrees precisely."

How precisely is 'precisely'? More precisely means more costly.
What is the ambient temperature in the dark room?
How many gallons in the in the heated bath? Is it water or gasoline ;-)?
Is the water still or moving?
Is the bath insulated to aid in maintaining constant temperature?
Is the temperature bath physically or otherwise tied into the rolling mechanism or are they two completely operations?