New Bench Power Supply Help

TheInfiniteLoop

Joined Feb 12, 2018
Hi, I'm new to electronics but I found a Xantrex XHR 20-50 at a swap meet for what I think was a great deal. It's a little banged up but it seems to function fine. Anyway, I can't seem to figure out how to adjust the current. The knob doesn't seem to do anything and being new to electronics I don't quite understand the manual. Right now if I set the voltage the current will automatically adjust to meet needs of whatever I'm powering but I am looking for how to set the current manually. Thanks.

Here is link to manual:
http://www.programmablepower.com/dc-power-supply/XHR/downloads/XHR_Operation_Manual_TM-XROP-01XN.pdf

TheInfiniteLoop

Joined Feb 12, 2018
Normally you need to short the leads then adjust your max current.
So I can change the max the current by putting it in standby holding the QVP/VI button and adjusting the max current but as far a I know that just limits it from going over a certain current. When I see videos on youtube of people who have these they can change the current however they want. Please forgive my ignorance I'm very new to electronics.

Reloadron

Joined Jan 15, 2015
Have you tried following the instructions on pages 37 and 38 of the owner's manual? You do not really need a current shunt as to see how it works:
1. Ensure that the front panel power switch is set to OFF.
2. Turn the voltage and current controls on the front panel fully counter-clockwise.
3. Turn the voltage control one (1) or two (2) turns clockwise.
4. Connect a DC shunt across the output terminals on the rear panel. (Just short the output skip to #7)
5. Connect a DVM across the DC shunt. The DC shunt-DVM combination must be rated better than 0.5% accuracy.
6. Turn the power switch to ON.
7. Slowly turn the current control clockwise. The current mode LED will turn on.