Need Help with fairly simple circuit to control servo

knbpixels

Joined Aug 10, 2016
Hi all, thanks for the help in advance. I am a novice when it comes to this stuff. This project is going into a car to control a servo that will turn 90 degrees clockwise and back.

Design considerations:

Servo controlled by https://www.sparkfun.com/products/13118
Relay used as switch for controller, relay triggered by power from ignition accessory circuit in car
Servo starts in position A when relay switch is open
Servo moves to position B upon key on (ignition accessory)
Servo moves back to position A upon key off (done automatically by controller)

It is important for the controller to not drain the battery if possible, I'm not sure how best to accomplish this...I'm thinking maybe a Delay off timer? If that will work, the sequence should be: Key off, delay timer starts countdown, servo moves to position A, delay timer kills the circuit.

One thing I have a question on, is doesn't that mean the delay timer will get power 24/7...and if so, are there delay off timers that that do not draw power after they have counted down? I would appreciate any recommendations for a timer that would work.

I have attached a schematic, drawn to the best of my ability and knowledge. Appreciate input and telling me where I'm going wrong!

Attachments

dendad

Joined Feb 20, 2016
I would use an Arduino Nano to do it all. That will be cheaper than the Sparkfun board too, and more adjustable.
And, as for drawing a small current when off, that is not a worry as the car battery has quite a large capacity and modern cars have already current drawn when off, and a few more mA will not be a problem.
If you have not used Arduinos before, this would be a good project to learn with.

knbpixels

Joined Aug 10, 2016
I would use an Arduino Nano to do it all. That will be cheaper than the Sparkfun board too, and more adjustable.