Need help to make two doorbells work simultaneously

Anomajaya

Joined Jul 11, 2023
Hello everyone,

I'm not an expert on electronics. I have an old analogue doorbell that works directly on 230V AC. And there is another Wifi enabled smart video doorbell as well. The basic idea of my project is to make both doorbells ring when either button is pressed. As the video doorbell is very sophisticated for me to hack, I only could take out two wires from the momentary push button of that bell. Basically, I have extended that button and if I short those two wires together, the video doorbell rings. There is a 2.85v (DC) voltage in between both these wires.

I tried to synchronise both systems using two relay modules but failed. I’m attaching the wiring diagram herewith. Once I press the old system switch, it rings both systems. But, when I press the Video doorbell, it does not trigger the 3v relay module and hence the old electric doorbell. Once I press the video doorbell the indicator led in the 3v relay module lights faint and beyond that nothing happens. I know this is very primitive work and please bear with me as I’m no expert on this.

If any of you could help me in this regard, that would be highly appreciated.

Thanks heap.

Attachments

panic mode

Joined Oct 10, 2011
remove old button from AC circuit and connect it to button of your new doorbell.
now pressing either of the two buttons should make new doorbell operate.

next add circuit to monitor voltage across the buttons. when it is low, activate relay. wire relay contact to AC circuit where old button was.

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013
Are you sure the old doorbell is running directly off the mains, and not off of a low voltage transformer tucked away in the basement rafters somewhere? In the US, these have been a fire code requirement since at least the 1950's

ak

MisterBill2

Joined Jan 23, 2018