Multiple breathing LED chaser circuit

bmcc339

Joined Nov 13, 2023
Hi everybody, I’m very new to electronics - trying to make a breathing LED chaser circuit with different colored LED’s. I was hoping somebody could help me understand how this might be constructed.

I want to wire 4 5mm LED’s (red, green, blue, yellow) to breathe in sequence - red breathes, then green breathes, then blue, then yellow, then back to red, and the sequence repeats. I’d also like to have a potentiometer which controls the speed of the breathing across all 4 LED’s.

Is this possible with a 555, or would I need a more advanced component? Would each LED need its own 555? I haven’t been able to find what I’m looking for so I thought I’d try here. Again, there are massive gaps in my knowledge of circuitry. Thanks in advance.

Sensacell

Joined Jun 19, 2012
"Breathing" is not really specific enough to comment on a design concept.
Create a diagram better defining what you want it to do.

ElectricSpidey

Joined Dec 2, 2017
Of course, right off hand most members here will say use a micro, and that would be the simplest way.

But I can imagine a circuit with the following components.

1 555
1 Op-Amp
1 Transistor
1 4017
1 load driver chip
And some misc. components...the pot etc.

Basically, the Op-Amp would be connected to the timing cap of the 555 in follower mode to provide the breathing with a high side transistor. (the pot will also be configured on this 555)

Then each LED will be connected to the load driver driven by the outputs of the 4017. (providing the low side connections)

The output of the 555 will clock the 4017.

Unfortunately, I am not at my PC where I can create a schematic, but I just wanted to put out this concept if you are interested.

bmcc339

Joined Nov 13, 2023
I’ve made a few single LED breathing circuits using this basic model. I’d like to have 4 individual LED’s breathing (not just switching) in sequence. One fades in and out, the next one fades in and out, etc.