Layout Issues with First Arduino Shield

jsyschan

Joined Apr 28, 2012
This is my first time posting on this forum, so I hope that I followed the guidelines correctly. I looked at the guidelines, but if I may have missed something, please let me know.

I am designing an Arduino 'shield' to communicate with various magnetometer sensors through I2C. The sensors are placed at certain corners of an apparatus, and they are connected by a flat ribbon cable to the Arduino, with the max length being about 1.5 meters. A Raspberry Pi interfaces with the Arduino, which reads magnetometer data from six to seven different sensors through an I2C expander. I have included the schematic as an attachment, but when I previewed the post, I didn't see it. Here's an image of the schematic that I posted on imgur.

I'm using KiCAD as my CAD software, and the following are the major parts I'm using for the shield:

Arduino Uno Rev. 3 TCA9548A
I2C Expander (Breakout) from Adafruit
Adafruit HMC5883L Breakout - Triple-Axis Magnetometer from Adafruit

Link to Fabrication Print: https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-tca9548a-1-to-8-i2c-multiplexer-breakout?view=all

Please note the orientation of the pins for the multiplexer. In the schematic, I used a generic 2x12 part for the multiplexer, but the pins were left to right rather than counter-clockwise, but I made sure that the actual PCB part had the right pins in the correct orientation based off of the part listing on Adafruit.