I need a Power Supply

Morad Tamer

Joined Oct 21, 2016
Hello everyone
I am an electronics hobbyist and I used to have a hacked PC PSU as a power supply
Unfortunately though I burned it because some piece of copper wire fell inside and made a short circuit
and BOOM I got the magic smoke
So I got another one which for some reason broke without me touching it after a great 3 months of spectacular use but I was kind of expecting that especially that I got it for 15 bucks
in the middle of a test the 3-volt rail sort circuited to the ground and the 5-volt rail but fortunately I noticed before any catastrophe since it turned out that it didn't had any kind of protection
As I am fed up from all of this I want to get a programmable power supply which is pretty expensive in my country
So should I get it or get another PC PSU but pick a higher quality model his time and mod it as i did to the previous two

Also is it OK for an LED to be operating at 50 degrees Celsius?

Please help me and really sorry if this was too much to read

Last edited:

Kermit2

Joined Feb 5, 2010
Sounds like all you need is something made of a non conductor.

Cover those terminals. Use coated/insulated copper wire.
Invest in some electricians tape, then use it. Don't test a circuit without insulation on the power wires and connectors.

A few extra minutes and some cheap insulating tape will cure you of the new found love of magic smoke.

Morad Tamer

Joined Oct 21, 2016
I did insulate those terminals
But that wire which bricked my PSU had fallen off while I cut the wires for the soldering and I just didn't notice it and because I move it a lot that piece of wire moved and made contact with two points that shouldn't connect

Still like you said a few extra minutes will cure me of the new found love of magic smoke
oh and can you help me the temperature of the LED which is 50 Degrees Celsius
Thank you

paulktreg

Joined Jun 2, 2008