How to read ROM source byte and load it to RAM destination byte

embedtechnology

Joined Dec 25, 2015
hi! I am new in c programing .And I have a doubt . I have arranged a 2 dimensional arry in a 8051 RAM space named buffer[ 8 ][ 6 ] and a lookup arry in ROM space of the same 8051 named lookup[ 100 ] at absolute 0x0600
My code :
unsigned short i=0 , j=0 ;
unsigned int lookup_addr=0x0600;
buffer[j]=lookup[lookup_addr];
Is the last line of code here right for micro c compiler?

Last edited:

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
hi! I am new in c programing .And I have a doubt . I have arranged a 2 dimensional arry in a 8051 RAM space named buffer[ 8 ][ 6 ] and a lookup arry in ROM space of the same 8051 named lookup[ 100 ] at absolute 0x0600
My code :
That's a good question. Since you have assigned an absolute address and not declared your data in separate memory blocks, how is the compiler supposed to know the difference between using the MOVC instruction to read data from Program Memory using the PSEN* control signal, or the MOVX instruction to access the Data Memory using the RD* and WR* control signals?

ApacheKid

Joined Jan 12, 2015
My code :
You should ideally post all the code because I can't see how buffer of lookup are actually defined.

Anyway, the last line looks incorrect, the RHS is referencing offset 0x0600 from whatever the address is of lookup.

Try this:

Code:

unsigned char * lookup_addr=0x0600; // initialize the pointer to this absolute address.

buffer[j]=lookup_addr[j]; // loop and inctement 'j'
However it would be better to use 'memcpy' take a look at that function, its a standard part of the C library.

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
You should ideally post all the code because I can't see how buffer of lookup are actually defined.

Anyway, the last line looks incorrect, the RHS is referencing offset 0x0600 from whatever the address is of lookup.

Try this:

Code: