How to measure current direction.

opalloyd

Joined Nov 6, 2016
Hi, I am new to this forum and hope someone can help me. I have restored an old 1959 motorbike and would like to install some kind of warning LED to show battery discharge and would go off on charging. The bike has a small ammeter but it is vey hard to see when pointer is around zero if battery is actually charging or discharging. The 6 volt battery is charged by a single phase alternator through a full wave rectifier and 6 volt regulator. I thought of maybe making a circuit with a zener that indicated when battery is over say 6.2 volts. This would still not indicate if battery is charging or discharging.
Any help would be appreciated. I am not an expert in electronics but have had experience building simple circuits.

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
The circuit above will light the LED when the battery voltage is above* a given level.
If, instead, you want to indicate when the battery is actually being charged you could try the circuit in the dotted box as below:
ChargingIndicator.JPG
This attaches to your bike wiring at A (the bridge rectifier +ve output, regulator input), B (the IGN switch, switched side) and C (ground). Depending on your alternator characteristics you may need to tweak resistor values.

Edit: * below.

Last edited:

Joined Nov 30, 2010
The circuit above will light the LED when the battery voltage is above a given level.
I disagree. The TL431 dumps current when it's sensor input is above 2.5V. My circuit has the LED on until the voltage exceeds the threshold defined by the resistors. The circuit above will light the LED when the battery is BELOW a certain level.

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013
Linear Technology and Maxim make high-side current monitor chips, some with the metering shunt built-in. These can tell you which way current is moving and how much, in case you want to have more of a display than a single LED.

ak

opalloyd

Joined Nov 6, 2016