Help with diy power supply with potentiometer

Aussie battler

Joined Mar 29, 2023
Hi all new to forum also like to say hi, I apologize in advance if this is in wrong section I'm new to electronics, and still learning the ropes of the basics so without doubt its laughable pleas be kind I'm new and learning this is my first project because every good enthusiast has a power supply, you say just buy one, yes I could and it would of been cheaper but I would not have close to the amount of amps output and I'm not learning

Ive built a power supply using computer supply,
So I've got a solid 3,5,12v output of 25a ea

I have also boost and buck converter board so I've got 10a adjustable between 1v to 36v I've removed the cc and cv trimpots both measured at 200,000 ohms, why I removed them is I want pot switches on front panel for ease of adjustment

The CC is 200,000 ohms
The CV is 200,000 ohms

I want to ad in a extra pot for fine tuning of the CV I can't figure it out I think I need to go lower number in ohms but how much is there a work around for this was thinking about 70% slower or what ever they are normally would be in commercially made power supplies, would this mean around 60,000-70,000 ohms for fine tune on CV

Please be kind I'm learning
Thank you to everyone in advance that can help

Aussie battler

Joined Mar 29, 2023
Ths is the buck and boost convert in question there's no schematic it's getting powered directly from the computer power supply

All I've done is removed the trim pots from the board to ad in potentiometer on the front face panel for ease of use and want to ad in a fine or slow tune voltage option to accompany the cv 200,000 ohm potentiometer which matches the boards original 200,000 ohm blue trimpot I hope I'm right to do that I figured if that's the value I should replicate the original value for cc and cc

many thanks sorry no schematics

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
You will have to do some reverse engineering on your own.