Help Understanding Conventional Vs Electron Current As Relates To Polarized Components

ArrowJ

Joined Oct 5, 2021
Greetings,

I thought I had the concept of conventional vs electron current figured out. I am not good at math, but I understand the formulas works either way if you watch the signs. That all seems fine...until you put a diode etc. in the circuit. Sure, the symbol is drawn the "wrong" way so everyone can play along at home, but if the electrons are actually flowing the opposite direction, and you place a diode in relation to a certain component to say protect it, would the current not actually flow through that component before it was blocked? I am sure I am missing something obvious here, but I cannot figure it out.

Thanks

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
It makes no difference whether you use conventional or electron flow.

Suppose there is a diode with the cathode connected to the positive electrode of a polarized capacitor.

For current flow, applying a positive voltage to the diode anode causes (theoretical) positive charges to flow through the diode from anode to cathode and adds positive charge the capacitor to generate a positive voltage.

Foe electron flow, applying a positive voltage to the diode anode causes electrons to flow from the cathode to the anode, removing electrons from the capacitor go generate a positive voltage.

So either way the capacitor will get charged to a positive voltage.

And in either case, applying a negative voltage to the diode anode, will cause the diode to block any current flow.

Make sense?

nsaspook

Joined Aug 27, 2009
Greetings,