Help me design a cheap iontopheresis machine

echelon1

Joined Jun 20, 2015
Hello,

I apologize in advance, I know very little about electronics/circuit design/etc but I was hoping I could find some help here. I am interested in creating a cheap, portable, and safe, machine to perform iontopheresis on my hands as a treatment for excessive sweating.

Here's my current (and very rudimentary but effective) setup that I've been using for the last 6 or 7 years (and previously I used this but I don't think it was powerful enough): I connect 4 rechargeable 9V batteries in series and attach a lead from either end to two respective stainless steel toaster oven trays (one for each hand), which are then filled with tap water and a dash of salt. When I place a hand in each pan, the circuit is completed. I sit like that for roughly a half hour, and then I reverse the current and repeat.

Here are the problems with the current setup and what I'm looking for in a new one:
1. Charging batteries is a pain in the ass, and buying new ones is expensive. Ideally I'd like something that can plug into the wall, but I obviously don't want to put my life at risk.
2. Obviously there is no way to control the current of this system, so every time I put the second hand in the water I get shocked. This makes it difficult to get started (think about watching someone prepare to kick you in the balls - your body won't just let you sit there and take it, the apprehension is too much). I would want something with a switch of some sort, ideally something like a rheostat or some method by which I can dial up the current slowly.
3. Now, the issue of my personal safety - My current setup runs current through my body and if this is a significant issue at this level of current (a question in itself) I would like to find a way to avoid that.
4. I travel for a living and spend a good portion of my life in hotel rooms and on airplanes - whatever this ends up being would need to be portable somehow.