-live wire-

Joined Dec 22, 2017
Hi,

I'm a rising freshman at Case Western University, and I would like to make an an electronic scooter to get around campus before I move in in about two months (mid august 2023).

I already have a lot of the parts I would need for the project, like motors and motor controllers, among other things. Aside from a well functioning and customized escooter, I would also like to expand my engineering skills with this project. I would like to improve my PCB design, power electronics, and general EE skills. I also would like to learn about steering mechanics.

There are a few specific features that I really could use some help deciding on a circuit for, or use some guidance on. I would like to use an ESP32 for the brains of this escooter, although I would be open to suggestions of other microcontrollers.

1. Telemetry. I would like to measure battery voltage, battery current consumption, motor current consumption, duration, user inputs, and motor control outputs.

a. For each trip, from when it is turned on to when it is next turned off, I would like to record a csv file with each entry representing these measurements at a point in time. I would like to just sample all of these things at a rate of 20hz, and have the file saved to an SD card. I could use some recommendations for how to best interface between an SD card and ESP32.

b. For measuring battery voltage, a simple resistor voltage divider to the ADC of the ESP32 should be reliable and accurate, right? Or would something else be better, like possibly adding a capacitor to smooth out the signal or something?

c. For motor and battery current consumption, I would like to use a low resistance current shunt. How could I reliably amplify/read this low voltage signal so that I can read it from the ESP32? Is there an IC that you would recommend for this? And is there another method of measuring current that would be preferable here?