Design: Simplicity vs. Complexity

voidSurfr

Joined Dec 21, 2022
Hey all, this is an oddity of a request. First, I'm not an electrical engineer; next, I wouldn't know a good circuit if it gave me a lap dance, so...I'm asking the community for help.

I'm writing a blog and would like to include some circuit diagrams; it seems like they would be perfect for visualizing a process. Here's what I'm looking for:

1. 2 Diagrams of different circuits that do exactly the same thing
    1. one circuit is simple, the other is unnecessarily complex
    2. perhaps some old circuit design from the 50s that was updated/simplified recently?
    3. I'm hoping there is some classic teaching example that is commonly used?
  2. It would be helpful if the contrast in complexity were visually obvious

The purpose of the comparison is to describe, in simple terms that anyone (including execs) should be able to easily understand, that 2 different processes can yield the same result but one of them is simpler and therefore easier to build, manage, produce, test, etc. while the other requires more components, and therefore costs more, is clearly less efficient, etc.

I thank the community for the help in advance. Happy holidays everyone!

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Welcome to AAC!

You are writing a blog.

1st question: What is the field or area of application?
2nd question: Who is your target audience?

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Here is an example of a complex circuit diagram.

1671814006559.png

This is an example of how it would be presented to managers and non-technical people:

1671814173531.png

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
One of the biggest transformation events that occurred in my area of expertise, was the creation of the Industrial PLC. Programable Logic Controller.