DC circuit analysis requirements

triggerflick45

Joined Sep 6, 2017
Is extensive knowledge of linear algebra ( matrices, vectors & such) mandatory for dc circuit analysis? what is the consensus? opinions seem to vary widely & I would really appreciate input on the views of people that actually work in a relative industry. Thank you for your time.Cheers!

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
Is extensive knowledge of linear algebra ( matrices, vectors & such) mandatory for dc circuit analysis? what is the consensus? opinions seem to vary widely & I would really appreciate input on the views of people that actually work in a relative industry. Thank you for your time.Cheers!
I'm not an electrical engineer and cannot do "DC circuit analysis" in any professional way. But I've done a fair amount of hobbyist electronics and listened on this forum to the advice of the many experts. I can't say I recall EVER seeing those mathematical tools being critical to a project. I know those tools from other work and have never found an application for them in electronics. That may say are about me than answer your question!

BR-549

Joined Sep 22, 2013
It will depend on how you define DC circuits. Current only flows one way thru a PN device.

If the current is constant and steady......ratios will do. If the current varies with any reactance present......then algebra and trig are needed.

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
Definitely not mandatory, but can also definitely be useful.

You will need to be able to solve sets of simultaneous linear equations, but the number of equations in the set does not have to be very large in order to get all of the concepts across. As a result, if you can reliably solve systems with three to five equations, that will probably be good enough.