Current Drop From Motor Resets Microcontroller

Lights&Sound

Joined Dec 29, 2023
Hi, I'm a beginner so please understand if I... you know... don't understand.

I have the attached circuit built and when I run the motor it works fine, but when the motor stops it (sometimes) resets the microcontroller. I know it is not too little current from the supply, but more likely the quick change in current as the motor shuts off. I understand from research and looking at an older forum post (see: Weird drop in voltage, or something else, resets microcontroller) that I likely need capacitors to handle the changes in current, but I don't quite understand what size and where. Would appreciate any help or a different solution! Thanks!

Attachments

BobTPH

Joined Jun 5, 2013
The motor stop more quickly and probably not crash the processor if you set both outputs to low to stop it. This makes a short circuit which acts as a brake.

Reloadron

Joined Jan 15, 2015
Current Drop From Motor Resets Microcontroller

I see you are using an older L298 motor controller. I gather from your drawing you are only running the motor in one direction. Keep in mind that a motor start current can be 10X greater than the run current especially if the motor starts under load. If the power supply dips enough then yes, the uC will reset. Also I see you have a Step Down Regulator in there as a buck converter I assume. Something you can try is placing a large cap across your power supply output, Large as in a few thousand uF rated at 25 volts or greater. Lastly a power supply capable of delivering higher current. This is all pure speculation not knowing your motor or power supply specifications. There are much better H Bridge motor controllers out there today, the old L298 is not very efficient and has voltage drop inherent to the design.

Ron

Lights&Sound

Joined Dec 29, 2023