Current cut-off Circuit

Jess Beca

Joined Oct 28, 2017
Hey, i would like some assistance with my circuit. I need to design a current cut-off circuit that will disconnect when the current coming into the circuit exceeds 100mA. Also, i would are there any ideas of designing a voltage limiter circuit, it should not allow the voltage to be more than 3.3volts, these are protection circuits for a cold.

Attachments

xox

Joined Sep 8, 2017
Ever heard of a "crowbar"? Limiting the voltage should prevent over-current in most types of circuits too, though I'm not sure about the particular one you're working on (sorry, I'm just a newb, no circuit analysis skills whatsoever).

Joined Nov 30, 2010
A crowbar circuit is a sort of suicidal method because it takes out a fuse and stops everything. The LM723 chip is equipped with a foldback circuit which greatly diminishes the output voltage during an overload and recovers as soon as the short is removed. I fell in love with that circuit back in the 1970's because it's almost* idiot proof and causes no damage.

*Yes, I know: If you try to make it idiot proof, all you accomplish is a better idiot detector.:(

Jess Beca

Joined Oct 28, 2017
Hey, thanks xox and #12 for the replies.

Is there a similar, newer device that will do a better job. I really don't wan tot use an idiot proof, since its an electronic assignment. Also, i forgot to state that these protection circuit will be connected to a AC to DC converter.

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014
A crowbar circuit is a sort of suicidal method because it takes out a fuse and stops everything.
But if you already have a circuit which limits the current to a safe value which the TS circuit is trying to do then a crowbar is a good solution for overvoltage. But it would be wise to include a fuse as well just in case.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
D'oh. I forgot for a moment that a crowbar is for over VOLTAGE and a foldback is for over CURRENT.:oops:

Jess Beca

Joined Oct 28, 2017
Hi, AlbertHall