Controlling a DC motor with Arduino UNO and VNH5019 Motor Driver

azazellohun

Joined Sep 8, 2017
I am a mechanical engineer student and building a self balancing inverse pendulum for my project, although I have very limited understunding of electronics.
The reaction forse used is the torque provided by a DC motor. The operation involves rapidly changing the direction of the motor and getting big amplitudes of torque out of it in both directions. I also am not a native english speaker so pardon me if I use incorrect phrases.

In my initial set up I used a Cytron 13A, 5-25V Single DC Motor Controller. The motor should only drain 7A at stall so I thought this driver IC should be more than enough. It worked for a long period of time but at one point something went wrong and the motor driver failed and now it's shorted on the battery side (I guess): the cables connected to it (from a 9.6 V airsoft battery) heated up very quickly and the plastic casing melted (and the motor driver won't even turn on now). I think the motor is still operational (I connected it directly to the battery and it worked).
I need help with figuring out what did I do wrong and to prevent future malfunction protecting both my arduino and the new motor driver I ordered.

The new IC's datasheet has something about thermal protection, u
ndervoltage and overvoltage shutdown, and current limitation in it but I'm not sure if it is enough to protect it.
It also speaks about reverse battery protection (2.5 Reverse battery protection, page 19) and series resistors that must be inserted to the microcontroller I/Os, but I have trouble understunding the formula presented there and what to do exactly.
Is V
CC the voltage of the battery, what is VIOs , should I insert those resistors between the arduinos OUT pins and the motor driver, and will the motor driver get the control signals through them?

Thank You for your help in advance

MrAl

Joined Jun 17, 2014
Hi,