Combine grain loss sensor questions

rhawley41

Joined Jul 12, 2023
Hello,

I am a farmer not an electrical engineer, but I have recently been trying to learn more about the electronics we use in farming. I have been trying to troubleshoot the grain loss system on our combine that hasn't worked in years. Keeping in mind that I am a farmer, as I understand it the sensors are just a piezo sensor glued to a piece of plastic over a piece of foam that isolates the sensor from the vibration of the machine (first picture). Any grain striking the plastic will send a signal to a monitor in the cab telling me that the machine is overloaded and dumping grain onto the ground with the chaff. There are four sensors on the machine @ $800 a piece. Could we fix these sensors for around ten bucks?

The resistors seem to have tested as good. The pair on the bottom left (second picture) @ 46k ohm, top center @ 22k ohm, and pair on bottom right @ 1k ohm.

The number on the transistor reads 2N 4401 422. I found a clip on YouTube on how to test small transistors using diode mode, and it showed a reading from base to emitter and from base to collector. I'm assuming it is good, but as I said, I am a farmer.

Now the problem, I could not get any reading from the piezo or capacitor. As I understand (again from YouTube), a good piezo should flash a voltage reading when tapped. I could not get any reading. And a good capacitor should build a charge (?) in diode mode or build resistance when ohmed. I could not get either reading. The number on the capacitor is 473K 100N.

Now my questions:

1) The piezo and capacitor are wired directly in series and both seem to be bad. Would one going bad cook the other? This sensor is original off a 1998 machine, so it is old.