Can anyone help me fix this circuit board please?

DanielHowden

Joined Nov 8, 2019
This is the circuit board from my motorcycle wheel balancer, it is a 3 phase machine. The area circled in red, I think they are resistors, two of them have burn marks on them. I'm happy to replace them, maybe all three but I need to find out what caused them to burn out.

The area circled in yellow, these were two, 2A x 250v fuses and both of these had blown.

I don't really know where to go from here but I am really hopeful that someone can suggest what to check and maybe point me to the cause of the failures here.

I am not an electrical engineer but I'm happy to get going to repair this board so I can get my wheel balancer going again.

Thanks, Daniel.

PXL_20231109_193820962.MP1.jpg

PXL_20231109_193827240.jpg

LowQCab

Joined Nov 6, 2012
The "2" Resistors probably burned-up from the Machine temporarily loosing
Voltage on one of the 3 Phase-Legs feeding the Machine.
This will instantly cause the Motor to "Lock-Up" and pull the full "Locked-Rotor-Amps" from the Supply.
This usually results in one, or several Fuses being blown, or a Circuit-Breaker being tripped.

You can devise your own "Phase-Loss-Detector" from several Relays,
or purchase one ready-made,
to prevent this from happening in the future.

The Resistors are probably slightly underrated on purpose to act as "fuses" in this exact scenario.

After You have effective "Phase-Loss-Protection" in place,
I would suggest bumping-up the Wattage-Ratings of the new replacement Resistors.
Just remember that the Resistors could be underrated to protect everything else on the Board.

A higher-quality Machine would have come equipped with Phase-Loss-Protection built-in.

ALL 3-Phase-Motors need Phase-Loss-Protection,
it can be very simple to implement with a minimum of 2 ordinary Relays,
or, there are more sophisticated commercial units that
also protect against over and under-Voltage conditions as well.

Phase-Loss-Protection-Relay