Box-O-Rocks

Joined Jul 14, 2022
Hello all,
Disclosure, I am an electrical engineer but I deal with designing power system for construction projects. I decided to go back for Masters in Power Electronics. I'm rusty with DC circuits.

My homework is the same as a previous thread... https://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/threads/buck-boost-converter-duty-cycle.128700/

I am not comfortable with the MOSFET. Could someone help explain how the current changes as it transitions through the MOSFET? my values are the same as in the link...
(Given) Vg= 12V, V= -5, R=2.5, f= 200kH,
(Solved) L=117uH, C=20uF, D=0.2941

I am looking to solve for the MOSFET peak current iQ1(t) with the ripple current.

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
Hello all,
Disclosure, I am an electrical engineer but I deal with designing power system for construction projects. I decided to go back for Masters in Power Electronics. I'm rusty with DC circuits.

My homework is the same as a previous thread... https://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/threads/buck-boost-converter-duty-cycle.128700/

I am not comfortable with the MOSFET. Could someone help explain how the current changes as it transitions through the MOSFET? my values are the same as in the link...
(Given) Vg= 12V, V= -5, R=2.5, f= 200kH,
(Solved) L=117uH, C=20uF, D=0.2941

I am looking to solve for the MOSFET peak current iQ1(t) with the ripple current.
There are two conditions to worry about:
  1. The MOSFET is turned on. In this state the resistance of the channel from drain to sources is very small, on the order of tens of milliohms. That is the current flowing into the drain is the same as the current coming out of the source. The voltage drop across the channel will be by Ohm's Law, the drain current times rds(on), the channel resistance. If rds(on) is 0.010 Ω, then the voltage drop will be millivolts/Ampere.