Arduino Due & UNI-T UTD2025CL Digital Oscilloscope

cxshermansg

Joined Sep 1, 2017
Hi guys, I have long since been interested in the subject of electrical, electronics engineering. But being a professional IT developer, I only got down to it lately. Due to budget constraints, I did invest in a simple digital storage oscilloscope from UNI-T, I figured it will come in handy when I progress to the stage where I need to solder and prep my own board based upon the prototype.

I also know based on the requirements of my project that I want to use either the Arduino Mega 2560 / Arduino Due. The thing that concerns me right now is that I know that Arduino Due has a much higher clock of 84 MHz, unlike Uno, Mega and the rest that runs at 16 MHz clock speed. Considering that the UNI-T UTD2025CL is stated to be 25Mhz & 250MS/s, I am a little concern about whether or not the Oscilloscope will be good enough. I did a bunch of research online and almost everything I have read so far recommended people to go for something along the range of 100MHz. Is that really necessary when we are working with Arduino related projects?

(I wanted to put this question up because I think it also helps me to understand better in general about what is recommended for folks dabbling in Arduino projects)

philba

Joined Aug 17, 2017
what will you be measuring? I have an old HP 50 Mhz scope and haven't had a problem. Most of my work is done with teensy 3.2s which are running at 96Mhz. Unless you need to do RF stuff, I think you'll find 25 Mhz to be usable. The one possible issue is if you are building your own processor boards and want to see if the xtal is oscillating. When I do spring for a new scope, I'll probably get a 200 mhz rigol but that's in the future.

A low cost logic analyzer might be a more worthwhile investment, by the way.

shteii01

Joined Feb 19, 2010