Working for a staffing company.

shteii01

Joined Feb 19, 2010
So. I am in US of A. I graduated with bachelor's degree in electrical engineering, no experience. Went to job fair, gave my resume here and there. Got a call from a staffing company, created account on their website, took a questionnaire, got a call for interview next week.

What should I be looking for? How are staffing companies usually work? Do I make a contract with them for a set period of time? If I get a better job offer can I quit and leave the staffing company at any time?

Any insight, experience, or just simple guidance is welcome.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
I just got let go from a job where I was going through a staffing agency.

You will have to fill out a time card to them. They will be the people who pay you. Basically they are your HR dept.

If experience is any judge from my Raytheon job you will be a bit of an outsider, not really an employee for the company you work at but accountable to them.

Not an ideal situation, but having a job is good.

MrSmoofy

Joined Jul 28, 2014
While I can't speak directly to Electrical Engineering contracts throught staffing agencys I can give you my experiences from both using them to find a job and using them for finding employees in a Software Development area.

My personal opinion is if you can avoid them do so, but I understand a job is a job and having a job is better then not. Think of staffing agencies as a last resort. This is from years of experience using them in both ways.

1. You need to look out for yourself, staffing agencies are never looking out for your best interests. They are looking out for their bottom line. No matter what they tell you or offer you and how they make you think they are working for you they are not.