When to use a diode in a circuit

Giggitti

Joined Mar 19, 2018
I am new to electronics as you will see when you look at my attached diagram. I am attempting to run multiple circuits off one power supply. It has three wires "Gnd",12V and 5 V. All the "grounds" are tied together. What I have here is simplified (I also have a raspberry Pi running off the 5V) in an attempt to answer one question, should there be any diodes in these circuits?

Attachments

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Welcome to AAC!

When I looked at this:
upload_2018-3-19_10-12-54.png
I had to think a bit about what you were trying to convey.

It looked kind of like a battery, but there seemed to be two voltages coming from the same point.

Something like this would be more obvious:
upload_2018-3-19_10-14-30.png
When drawing schematics or block diagrams, most have a strong preference for things to flow from left to right and top to bottom.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
When do you need a diode in a circuit?
That is the same as asking the following:

When do you need a ??? in a circuit?

Replace ??? with :
  • resistor
  • capacitor
  • inductor
  • diode
  • transistor
  • fuse
  • MOV
and the list goes on and on.

We cannot possibly answer such a question in one AAC thread.
You need a course in electronic devices and circuit theory.

Reloadron

Joined Jan 15, 2015
I believe what this comes down to is understanding what a diode actually does and then when and where to apply them in a circuit design. Even within diodes there are different types of diodes suited for different applications. It all starts with understanding diodes and how to interpret their data sheets. You don't learn to swim in the deep end of the pool.

Ron

Giggitti

Joined Mar 19, 2018
Welcome to AAC!

When I looked at this:
View attachment 148653

It looked kind of like a battery, but there seemed to be two voltages coming from the same point.

View attachment 148654