Voltage divider doesn't match the power supply voltage

Wiktor6

Joined Jan 3, 2024
Hi,

I'm working with voltage dividers and I've noticed some very unexpected behavior when using high-resistance resistors.

I've created a voltage divider with 470k and 1M ohms resistors and hooked it up to a 9V battery (9.22V measured). The expected voltage would be 6.27V for 1M and 2.95V for 470k. Instead, I got 4.78V and 2.22V when measuring them individually, resulting in a total of 2.22V lost.

I've then recreated the test with 10x lower resistors - 47k and 100k. The loss was smaller, but still noticeable - at 0.32V lost compared to the power supply.

Could someone please explain what is going on? I'm a beginner in electronics and I'm sure there's something I don't know that would make me understand this phenomenon. Thanks in advance

Jony130

Joined Feb 17, 2009
Your voltmeter internal resistance will be the reason. Cheap voltmeters will have 1Meg of internal resistance.

sagor

Joined Mar 10, 2019
What is the input resistance of your meter that you are measuring with. While many are 10 megaohm, it may be possible that some cheaper meters have a much less input resistance, and thus it is loading down the device you are measuring. That is, the 1M resistor and your meter are 2 "resistors" in parallel, possibly dropping the voltage even more. You can prove your meter is affecting the results by trying a 1k and a 470 ohm resistor, the calculated values should be much closer to what you measure.
Also, what is the % tolerance of the resistors? That can affect the values to a small degree as well.

Wiktor6

Joined Jan 3, 2024
Wow didn't expect that much engagement so quickly, thanks for the activity guys.