Use of ac to extend switch life.

sternpirate

Joined Dec 10, 2015
As a hobbyist I was wondering about how to extend ultra sub miniature microswitch life, used in a usb mouse. I am well aware of different debouncing methods, what I am interested in is breakdown of the contacts. I read an article about how ac is better for switching purposes because it is self extinguishing of electrical arcs. So for instance could I build an ac oscillator to supply each switch and check for voltage at the microcontroller. what frequency would be best? the standing wave ratio would be terrible but I guess some circuits are resistant. what output devices should be used? any opinions?

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
The switches in your mouse won't be subject to any meaningful electrical stress. Lifetime will be limited by the mechanical durability of the design. Aside from using the buttons as little as possible, there's little you can do to extend lifetime.

sternpirate

Joined Dec 10, 2015
The switches in your mouse won't be subject to any meaningful electrical stress. Lifetime will be limited by the mechanical durability of the design. Aside from using the buttons as little as possible, there's little you can do to extend lifetime.
I read a post saying microswitches shouldn't see more than 20ma or lifetime will be shortened. I'm currently giving them 40ma (i think). what is the sweet spot for current? too little would be intermittent.

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
I read a post saying microswitches shouldn't see more than 20ma or lifetime will be shortened.
Without some context, a statement like that is meaningless. I have some Cherry microswitches that are rated at 10A. They're larger than any that would ever be used in a mouse, but they're still considered microswitches.
I read a post saying microswitches shouldn't see more than 20ma or lifetime will be shortened. I'm currently giving them 40ma (i think).