Trying to shock my mushrooms

NikkiNix42

Joined May 3, 2023
Hello!
I’m a trade electrician/mushroom farmer looking for a way to provide about a 100-120kV timed pulse of electricity through a Petri dish of agar (jelly substance) which will be sterilized in an autoclave.
I think I need conductive leads of some type to connect to the Petri dish lid permanently to touch the agar; and then some type of pulse generator, tens unit?, or muscle stimulator? with leads that can connect to the Petri dish lid connectors.
If anyone can see their way through this using any combination of components, please help me figure out how to shock my mycelium dishes

DickCappels

Joined Aug 21, 2008
Do you have any idea of how much voltage 100 kV is? In most situations, just because of stray capacitance, that would be a deadly voltage, plus it would be very hard to control.

You might want to check your sources - 100 kV is a huge voltage.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
A TENS unit might get over 100V but nowhere near 120kV.

I can imagine that a brief low-current pulse might do something to a mushroom, like make the mycelium decide to fruit. I cannot imagine why a lightning bolt could be useful for any purpose other than killing it.

NikkiNix42

Joined May 3, 2023
Do you have any idea of how much voltage 100 kV is? In most situations, just because of stray capacitance, that would be a deadly voltage, plus it would be very hard to control.

You might want to check your sources - 100 kV is a huge voltage.
1683179379831.png

I am aware 100,000 V is a lot-I am referencing “Radical Mycology” as my source. From what I have read in other places as well, 100-130kV is the sweet spot

Last edited by a moderator:

NikkiNix42

Joined May 3, 2023
A police taser gun produces 50kV. Why do you need double that to stun your mushrooms?