energizedlow

Joined Nov 22, 2023
Hello, I am new to solving things using Thevenin's Theorem and I am getting very stuck on a problem. I completed 5 other ones in no time but this one just seems to stump me.

I have a program where I can check my answers after drawing out the circuit and I have no idea how to get the numbers I'm looking for.

The Load Resistor for this problem is R3.

I think my Vco/VTh is off but shouldn't it be 20?

Attachments

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
Why should it be 20? 20 what? 20 V? Units matter.

You need to show your work. There's no way we can do anything but guess at what you are doing right and what you are doing wrong unless you show us what you are doing.

energizedlow

Joined Nov 22, 2023
Why should it be 20? 20 what? 20 V? Units matter.

You need to show your work. There's no way we can do anything but guess at what you are doing right and what you are doing wrong unless you show us what you are doing.
Yes, 20 volts...

I can't really show progress reports if I get stuck on the very first thing.

Wouldn't the 220v and the 240v subtract once you remove the load because of the polarities? From there, what would be the steps to get the Voc/Vth.

Using KVL, I get a current of 2.9 mA. Then I look for Vd and that's where I get confused.

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
Yes, 20 volts...

I can't really show progress reports if I get stuck on the very first thing.
You say that you solved five others and yet can't even make an attempt at getting started on this one? This makes me think that you are relying to much on lucky guessing and too little on applying the fundamentals.

What steps are you supposed to apply to find a Thevenin equivalent circuit? There are a few common approaches, but at the end of the day they all come down to applying the same analysis techniques that you should already be comfortable with, such as mesh analysis, nodal analysis, and superposition.