The eFuse - would you advise?

dandy1

Joined Sep 30, 2017
Is the eFuse really a one stop solution?

As an indeterminate hobbyist I often find the lack of experience leads to some form of failure in a downstream system, whether it be short circuit, overvoltage, current limiting - the list goes on...
So I've often wondered is the eFuse really a solution, at least in the face of inexperience, to protect against the myriad of unforeseen and uncalculated mishaps.

I'm looking at the TPS2660x. https://www.ti.com/lit/gpn/TPS2660 in HTSSOP16 package, easy to solder, has reverse input protection, current limiting, inrush current ramp and OVP/UVLO (Overvoltage Protection/Undervoltage Protection).

I would be grateful for advice and general feedback and find out the pros cons of this device or suggestions on other devices.

Ill start with the reverse protection feature, which claims to withhold -60v on the input. This is an important feature for me and immediately eliminates a reverse polarity fet with associated zener and resistors. Although at a cost of 150mOhm RDSon, I find it quite reasonable as an integrated solution, other chips in the line offer very low Iq as low as 31mOhm but forfeit ratings on other features.

UVLO. (Undervoltage Lockout) Although Im sure it has its uses, I can only find that this feature is good for saving a battery draining, that is disabling the down stream supply when a low voltage condition occurs. According to the DS this has a delay of 10uS.

OVP. (Overvoltage Protection) with a delay of 6uS. Is this considered acceptable by means of protecting sensitive ICs such as MCUs, Modems, IMUs etc?