Suggestions on a tube tester?

xtal_01

Joined May 1, 2016
Sooo .... I am not an electronics guy (I am a machinist by trade) but I do keep a number of tube radios going and build reproduction regenerative receivers once in a while. I also have about 500 vacuum tubes ..... bought some, given some, ..... the pile just keeps getting bigger ... I am guessing about 200 are "usable".

I need a "cheap" tube tester.

I looked on e-bay and see dozens .... start at $20 and got to $1000!

This is not a main hobby for me and I don't want (and don't have) to spend more than I need to but I do want to get a decent tester.

Can anyone give me any guidance as to what I am looking for?

There is just so many and I have not idea what I am looking for in a tester.

Thanks ..... Mike

Reloadron

Joined Jan 15, 2015
Beyond those in the corner drug store the tube testers I had the most experience with were the old military TV-7 series. I about had a cardiac when I just saw what they and similar were selling for. Cheap or Inexpensive does not seem to apply when it comes to really good tube testers. I want to recall several years ago in a forum a discussion focused on some newer units aimed at the audiophile market but can't recall who was making them. I believe if you could find a good working old TV-7 it would well suit your needs. Much of what you are looking for would also depend on which tubes you are looking to test? I would assume those found in any of the old receiving tube manuals which covered the basic tubes of the day.

Ron

xtal_01

Joined May 1, 2016
I did see at TV-7 ...... working and calibrated $1,000 !!!! On ebay not working (or at least not checked) they start at around $300 and another $300 to calibrate them ( plus shipping on something that weighs as much as a boat anchor).