Stabilisation issue in the negative range of my LM324

ryanafleming

Joined Sep 25, 2017
Hi guys,

I have been working with a TI quad LM324 op amp and have been running into an issue on my boards. Simulations for the below circuit on LT Spice show me as expected that my 1khz pulse inverts to 1/5th of the amplitude of my input signal. Though when I do this practically below as seen on my scope, I get ringing at 910kHz with an amplitude of 210mV and can't work out whats going on?

Initial bode plot results show that I have a PM of roughly 47, but I'm a bit of a noob at doing them and pretty sure I did it wrong!

Cheers,
Ryan.
upload_2017-9-26_17-6-21.png

Attachments

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
Is your circuit built on a breadboard?
Are the dual supplies decoupled by appropriate capacitors at the opamp supply pins?
Do the circuit and scope have a single-point ground?

OBW0549

Joined Mar 2, 2015
Though when I do this practically below as seen on my scope, I get ringing at 910kHz with an amplitude of 210mV and can't work out whats going on?
It sounds to me like your op amp is oscillating. They like to do that, unless you strongly discourage them. Some suggestions:

1. Make sure you have the LM324's power connections properly decoupled: a 0.1 μF capacitor from the Vdd pin to ground, as close to the Vdd pin and the op amp's (+) input as possible, and another 0.1 μF capacitor from the Vss pin to the same ground point;
  2. Connect a resistor, ≈ 2 kΩ to 10 kΩ, from the op amp's output to either Vdd or Vss (Vss is probably better), to "pre-load" the LM324's output stage so that either the internal current-sourcing transistor(s) or the current-sinking transistor(s) is on all the time and the LM324 doesn't have to flip back and forth between sourcing and sinking; and