Solution for a resistive circuit

jhmluna

Joined May 15, 2023
Hello.

I am studying electronics and I came across a question that I am not able to resolve.
The question asks for the value of resistance R so that the 5 Ω resistor (R5) in the circuit is subjected to a potential difference of 5 V. The circuit mentioned is in the following figure.
I really tried a lot but I couldn't find a solution.

Electronic circuit

I redraw the circuit that looks like the figure below and I see that it looks like a wheatstone bridge. The wheatstone bridge is easy to solve if there is balance, which is not the case.

1684176911961.png

I tried it first by applying Kirchhoff's Current Law:
\( (A): I_4 = I_1 - I_g \)
\( (B): I_3 = I_2 + I_g \)

From equations A and B and going through branches 1 and 2 (Kirchhoff's Voltage Law), we have:
\( (1): 20\cdot I_1 - 10\cdot I_2 + 20\cdot I_g = 0 \)
\( (2): 5\cdot I_4 - 20\cdot I_g + R\cdot I_3 = 0 \)

Knowing that:
\( I_4 = 1 A \)
and that:
\( I_3 = I_2 + I_g \)

Substituting in equations (1) and (2) we have:

\( (1): 20\cdot (1 + I_g) - 10\cdot I_2 + 20\cdot I_g = 0 \)
\( (1): 40\cdot I_g - 10\cdot I_2 + 20 = 0 \)

\( (2): 5 - 20\cdot I_g + R\cdot (I_2 + I_g) = 0 \)

And this is my limit. Try as I might, I can't get past this point.
That's why I came here to ask for help.
Does anyone have an idea how to resolve this question?
How to find the value of R so that the potential difference across resistor R5 is equal to 5 V?

Thanks for any help.

Attachments

panic mode

Joined Oct 10, 2011
Why did you chose positive sign for last term in:
(2) 5⋅I4−20⋅Ig+R⋅I3=0

why do you think that voltage drop across R5 does not depend on V1?

how do you know that I4 is 1A?

Last edited:

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012