Simple Circuit to Reverse Pos Neg Leads from battery?

Gamedojo

Joined Mar 17, 2015
Hello everyone,

I work for a Point of Sale display company and we have a need for a circuit that can control how a battery connects to a small motor. We need the motor to move right for a small time, then reverse direction.

I have proposed we use a simple circuit to reverse the polarity of the power from the battery and then after a specific amount of time, reverse it back...and so on and so on forever.

Can any of you guys point me in the right direction? Can this be done simply with diodes and capacitors, or will a programmed Op Amp be needed?

I am a novice, so be kind.

Thanks!

Tyler

Gamedojo

Joined Mar 17, 2015
Also do you need end stops, or does it matter if it over runs, i.e. no physical stop present??
Max.
Whats happening is a "head" is turning left and then right. there is no absolute location it must stop before reversing, but it would be a good idea to have it in the same place each time so the head doesn't go too far over time.

(I have to thank all of you for such fast and informative responses! Quite an amazing forum!)

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
You can put a 2 limit switches in series with the motor leads, one at each end of travel, a diode across each allows reverse without anymore switching.
Max.

mcgyvr

Joined Oct 15, 2009
Or forget all that and just do it mechanically..
Back and forth can easily be accomplished with the motor turning in one direction only..

Gamedojo

Joined Mar 17, 2015
Or forget all that and just do it mechanically..
Back and forth can easily be accomplished with the motor turning in one direction only..
We are exploring the mechanical option as well, but it gets far more complicated and the more moving parts you have the greater the risk of failure. An electronic option would also be far cheaper.

Dodgydave

Joined Jun 22, 2012