Recommend me reading material for my project ?

Zedabee

Joined Nov 14, 2022
Looking for some advise/direction on reading material for my project which I will try describe in steps below:

1: Log slices are placed onto a conveyor belt
2: Laser mounted onto conveyor sends data (for log slice size calculation)
3: Log drops onto pressure plate to signal log is ready to split
4: Based on log slice calculation, hydraulic ram moves correct size blade into position
5: Main hydraulic ram fires, forcing log through blade, then returns
6: Next log falls down onto pressure plate which starts log slice calculation and blade postition selection etc.

All motors/rams are driven by hydraulics and feature 12v solenoids.

So, I have some experience with automation using HomeAssistant and my initial thoughts were to simply build this system using the HomeAssistant environment...... but then I started thinking that there probably is a much more targeted environment for the system I want to build.

Could anyone possibly direct me to some topics I should go and research for this project?.

Many thanks for any direction on this.

I will attach a very basic drawing I threw together with lots missing just to give an idea of what the machine is:

Attachments

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
I would recommend an investigation of Ladder Logic. In the age before computers this was how industrial processes were controlled. In the modern era it is still used in conjunction with a PLC (Programmable Logic Controller). Most Community Colleges have a one or two semester course in this material which I highly recommend.

shortbus

Joined Sep 30, 2009
2: Laser mounted onto conveyor sends data (for log slice size calculation)
3: Log drops onto pressure plate to signal log is ready to split
4: Based on log slice calculation, hydraulic ram moves correct size blade into position