Recommedation on a circuit simulator?

ScrubOak

Joined May 1, 2022
Hello, I am new to the circuit simulator world, and I happened upon this website:

https://www.falstad.com/circuit/

Is this a good resource, or is there a lot more out there I am not aware of? If anyone could help educate me on the simulation space, I would certainly appreciate it.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
Falstad is a simple to use beginner's simulator, but is not Spice based and is limited in its capabilities.

Several of us on these electronic websites use the free LTspice from Analog Devices which is one of the best free ones available.
It has a somewhat steep learning curve, but there are good tutorials and sample circuits to help you with that process.
Also we can help you with any questions here.

Another one you might consider is the free Tina Spice simulator from TI, but I'm not that familiar with it.

ScrubOak

Joined May 1, 2022
Thank you both.

Falstad is a simple to use beginner's simulator, but is not Spice based and is limited in its capabilities.

Several of us on these electronic websites use the free LTspice from Analog Devices which is one of the best free ones available.
It has a somewhat steep learning curve, but there are good tutorials and sample circuits to help you with that process.
Also we can help you with any questions here.

Another one you might consider is the free Tina Spice simulator from TI, but I'm not that familiar with it.
Would you say this is the one that is most commonly used?

You will find a lot of folks here using LTspice Simulator | Analog Devices which is free and with lots of support. Falstad looks pretty but isn't really much of a true simulator.
Can you elaborate on that distinction?

Alextrical

Joined May 5, 2022