Questions about routing LVDS signal at 125Mhz

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by maxg31, Mar 14, 2018.

1. maxg31

Thread Starter New Member

Mar 13, 2018
    Hello everybody ! I'm a young technician without a lot of experience in routing signals a then I have several questions to ask you ...

Here is my project : I have to convert and distribute a 125MHz clock in lvttl to 4 systems which accepts only lvds (Redpitaya). There will be around 40cm between the source and the receivers.

I find this IC from ti to convert lvttl in lvds : http://www.ti.com/product/SN65LVDS105

Then I have to make a pcb to route the signals and here are my questions :
    - How can i calculate the width, the thickness and the separations between the traces to get a 100 ohm line ? Does the frequency matter in this calculation ?
    - I saw odd and even mode for differential lines impedance, which one matter for the impedance matching ?
    - Is it necessary to connect the gnd of my pcb to the systems which receives the lvds signal ?
    - I thought make a 2 stacks pcb one for the signals and the other for gnd to make microstrip, is it the right solution ?
    This is my first conception for "high" frequency signals, i'm a little bit confused between all the parameters which matter so if you can help me I will be very thankful.

Ps : I am from france then forgive my bad english :D

2. tribbles

Jun 19, 2015
    I've routed USB3 signalling quite happily, which runs at a much higher frequency than 125MHz!

You need a microstrip differential calculator - such as https://www.allaboutcircuits.com/tools/edge-coupled-microstrip-impedance-calculator/

There's a number of parameters, and generally, you just change the numbers until you get the right value. Some of them you'll need to get from your PCB manufacturer - such as the dielectric, trace height, and layer thickness (i.e. the thickness of the board between the microstrips and the ground plane).